Fifty Shades of Grey – Book Review

50ShadesOfGrey1 Fifty Shades of Grey… What’s the big deal…? Well I recently finished reading the first book in the Fifty Shades Trilogy. I have to say the first part of the book intrigued me, I wanted to read and read and read. Then Ana started to annoy me, and I merely wanted to finish it. And by the end of the book, I was crying my eyes out… Fifty Shades of Grey is a 2011 erotic novel by British author E. L. James. Set largely in Seattle, it is the first instalment in a trilogy that traces the deepening relationship between a college graduate, Anastasia Steele, and a young business magnate, Christian Grey. It is notable for its explicitly erotic scenes featuring elements of sexual practices involving bondage/discipline, dominance/submission, and sadism/masochism (BDSM). Anastasia “Ana” Steele meets Christian Grey, when she does a stand in interview, that her room-mate and best friend Katherine Kavanagh was scheduled to do. From there Christian starts “stalking” Ana, and persuades her to be his submissive. The book is filled with music references and explicit sex scenes. One thing that bugs me, is where on earth does a young woman of 22 say, “oh my…” when she gets aroused? It sounds more like something a middle-aged housewife would say. And then there’s the constant reference to Christian’s huge (dot dot dot). Other than that Ana is a bit annoying, but I think that was the author’s intention. The last few pages broke my heart, maybe I was just emo at the time or if I was so happy that it was finally over… dunno 🙂 but I’m intrigued to read the next instalment. But I need a bit of a break before I do so… 🙂 Right now my view is Neutral, I don’t completely LOVE it, but I don’t HATE it either.

Please leave a comment

