How to create a textured background with Photoshop (Blogging 101)

Day 7 – Blogging 101: Start Personalizing

Today’s assignment: create and upload a simple header, background, or both. Already done? Try a custom widget.

My blog already has a Header and background, but looking at the pixellated background I think i might need one with a higher resolution.

This was my background image…

background image

I want my background to have a pattern that looks like dragonfly wings. So I started looking for dragonfly wings on Google. But alas I could not find anything that has a seamless non pixellated look.

So I decided to make a background with Photoshop.

Here’s a small step by step: How I created my new background

I opened a new file and set the dimensions to 1200 x 800 pixels

Open a new photo

I then selected a foreground colour with the colour selector and used the paint bucket tool to fill the background.

Select a colour for background

I changed the foreground colour back to black and selected the entire background (ctrl + A).
Then I opened the filter menu and selected the stained glass option under the texture section.

Select the Stained glass texture

I played around with cell size, border thickness and light intensity.

Play around with the settings
And ended up with this image…my new blog background 🙂Background1

I hope you find inspiration with Photoshop textures.

5 thoughts on “How to create a textured background with Photoshop (Blogging 101)

  1. That’s some intense dragonfly background going on! I like it. I like more how you weren’t able to find something online and then created it yourself. Even better, you did a step by step guide to share with the rest of us! Thanks for the generosity 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blogging 101 – Day 11, 14 and 15: Re-Designing my blog | Fly 'pinions

Please leave a comment

